Painted kindness rocks…

Over the past 6 months or so I’ve come across a variety painted rocks while on my walks. I was always  curious who put them there and why.  I just took pictures of these rocks, feeling guilty if I took one.  I wanted everyone else to enjoy them too. But of course the next time I would walk they were gone.  So this past week I came across a red rock with a face painted on it and the name Dorothy, now you would have to be real observant to find this rock because it was hidden.  The others were not so much.  So, every time I saw one I took a picture withe my phone and posted it on Instagram or my Insta story. I didn’t want to take that rock away from it’s place.  But, today I decided to google this trend and found out that it’s ok to take them. There’s even a Facebook page about the Painted kindness rocks. These are meant to brightened someone’s day. Also with the hope that we can spread more kindness with these whimsical painted rocks.  Even if it’s just a one word saying, like Hope, Joy, Breathe, Whatever it takes to make someone feel good.

Spreading kindness is always welcomed, especially in this crazy world we live in now.  I know that now when I see one that it’s ok to take it.  I am however going to also pay it forward and paint a few myself, or just write a saying and start leaving them at random times and places. The few that I have seen recently have put a smile on my face.

As always: Keep smiling!!!

 

A few rocks I saw on my recent walks~

 

 

 

 

One thought on “Painted kindness rocks…

  1. For some remotely related reason, I am reminded [alliteration not intended], of the Where’s George project, wherein people track dollar bills on which they have written the web site (https://www.wheresgeorge.com/). It’s a fun way to connect with other people. My grandson, along with others in his first-grade class, sent me a tiny stuffed animal that is supposed to be forwarded to others through a five-month process, with it being eventually returned to him with notes inside the envelope.

    In a way, this rock project is the epitome of altruism, for nothing is expected in return, since at the most it seems only a picture of the painter and perhaps her or his first name is on the rock–no other identifying factors. It’s a wonderful idea and utilizes natural materials. Thanks for sharing. Life is indeed stressful at times, and when people share joy, it goes a long way toward making it better.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment